Key Stage Performance

The national curriculum is organised into blocks of years called 'key stages' (KS). At Cheam Fields we have three key stages: Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) for Nursery and Reception; KS1 for Years 1 and 2; and KS2 for Years 3 to 6.

At the end of a key stage, the teacher will formally assess each child's performance.  These assessments are informally known as 'SATs'.  KS2 assessments take place in May and are more formal in format than in EYFS and KS1.  The tests are taken in Year 6 and cover the three core subjects, English, mathematics and science.

The results of your child's end of year stage assessments will be sent home to parents by the end of the summer term.  High schools use the results of the KS2 assessments to place children in sets for subjects.


Find out more about the National Curriculum Key Stages at

Read our results - 2023

Read our results - 2022

Results 2017 - 2019

View the School Performance Tables